Expense Reports June 2023 – Up and To the Right

As usual, it is time for another expense report. This time for June 2023.




Housing was $1352. This expense is standard at this point barring me moving which is something I’ll probably start looking at in December, I think downsizing might not be a bad idea. I currently have a bit too much space unless I find a roommate.


My utilities for the month were $362. In terms of usage, I think this is about as low as it can get. For July I’ll be making my last $90 deposit with my utility company which will help. Although as it starts to get cooler again I expect my utilities to go back up as I have to heat the house again.

I did find out what the issue was with the utility bill that I talked about last month. The city wasn’t charging me for other services when they should have been. It comes in at about an extra $70 a month.


My groceries were $310. I came in just over my goal on this one. But I think I’ve found a ratio for frozen fruit to get at least a few extra meals out of my frozen fruit before I have to buy some more. But I guess I’m kind of at my cheapest for quite a few meals.


My discretionary expenses were $42. I expect about 2-3 more months to restock my teas. I got one of the black teas I like and I’m going to get a batch of green, jasmine, and chai. Overall I think this is going to be close to standard for this fund for the next few months.

I’m going to try and get back into homebrewing as well starting in July, thinking of making some meads. I’ll be charging the costs of that to the discretionary fund.

My goal fund currently has $58.


My other expenses were $54. I refueled my car this month but since I didn’t do the maintenance. I’ll get the oil change and tire rotation next month, I’m guessing this will cost no more than $100. Going forwards I’ll start collecting the tools I’d need to do this myself.


In total, I spent $2,120. I’m fairly close to my goal of $2,100 this month. I think with the anticipated drop in my utilities and when I get the car maintenance out of the way I’ll be hitting this goal.


My total income for the month was $7,065. The table below shows the sources of income for this month. Currently, I do not include investment income in that total. I did get a raise that will go into effect in July. As I’ve only been working for five months it’s not a full raise, but any small bump a year is nice. As for the other category, it was a state tax rebate.

In other news, I got a small raise this month. It’s not much, roughly $100 a month total after taxes. So expect a small bump starting with July’s income.


Account balances

The table below shows my account values at the end of the month. For the investment accounts it’s recorded on the last trading day of the month, and the cash accounts are recorded on the last full day of the month.

Account TypeAmount

The graph below tracks my change in net worth since I started tracking it in January 2023.

Up and to the right. That’s what I like to see. Stock returns were pretty good this month so that helped quite a bit.

Savings Rate

This month, my savings rate was: 70%. I’m up from last month and above my goal of 66%. I expect a small dip in my savings rate next month since I doubt I’ll get another tax rebate.

My average savings rate Year to Date is 63.24.

Much like the net worth graph, the graph below tracks my monthly savings rate. This is to help me track long-term trends regarding my savings.

Up above the average and my goal savings rate again. I would have been above my goal even without the extra money from the tax rebate this month. Hopefully, I’m able to maintain at or above my goal for the rest of the year to help drag my savings rate up.

Goal Updates

The table below shows a quick snapshot of my goals, mirrored over on my goals page.

Expand Emergency FundShortOne time100
Workout 5 days a weekShortContinuousOn Track
Repair ForgeMediumOne time25
Enroll in a Spanish CourseMediumOne time0
Reduce Spending in a CategoryMediumAnnual75
Repair 3D PrintersMediumOne timeOn hold
Expand Potted GardenMediumOne time100
Net worth 150,000LongOne Time92
Learn Spanish Verb ConjugationLongOne time30
Set New Workout GoalsLongAnnualOn Track
Reach FILongerContinuous9
Expand Engineering SkillsLongerContinuousOn Track
Obtain some Degree of Fluency in SpanishLongerContinuousOn Track
Maintain Retirement ContributionsLongerContinuousOn Track
Increase Savings RateLongerContinuousN/A
Expand workout RegimeLongerOne TimeOn Track

When it comes to my Spanish goals, I’ve got a bunch to say.

I’ve been doing better at keeping up with my daily exercises. I’m going to try and add one episode of a Spanish podcast every day.

I’ve been looking into classes and I’m working on pricing them out. They’ll likely be one of next year’s expenses.

Working out is going well. I fell off the wagon a few times but it’s going well. I’m doing something active every day. I’m probably going to spend one more month running 3 days a week. However, the last week of June was extremely hazy in my area so I didn’t run at all.

I’ve started the goal fund, it’s not quite got enough but I’m guessing in a month or two I’ll have enough extra cash in the fund to order the supplies to repair my forge. Then it will be finding an afternoon to get to work.

I looking to be on track to end the year with a net worth greater than $150,000 and it’s looking like my grocery bill will be below $300 by the end of the year.

That’s it for June. I’ll see you all next week.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *